Five Reasons Writers Should Welcome a Head Cold by Catherine Castle

 

Five Reasons Writers Should Welcome a Head Cold

Sneeze_in_white_hankie

courtesy Wikimedia commons

 

Welcome a head cold? you ask. Why would anyone in his or her right mind want to catch a cold?

I know I don’t. I hate being sick, especially with the head cold that turns into bronchitis and a sinus infection. You know the one I mean. Where you end up barking like a cross between an angry Rottweiler and a giant sea lion in mating season. The illness that turns your normally melodic soprano voice into a second bass who can’t speak above E below middle C, much less sing. The head-cold-from-hell that makes you wish you had stock in Puffs or Kleenex because you had to buy out the grocery store to keep up with your draining sinuses.

Well, that’s what it’s been like for me this past three weeks. I’ve had watery, burning eyes; alternately stuffed-up and running-like-a-waterfall nose; chapped nostrils and a raging sore throat; second-bass laryngitis, a honking cough that leaves me out of breath, and a cold that developed into a sinus and bronchial infection. For most of the past three weeks, I’ve generally felt like you-know-what. In fact, when I wasn’t wiping down surfaces with a disinfectant or blowing my brains out through my nostrils, I sat in my recliner like a zombie. Alive, but not alive.

So what could make all this misery worthwhile?

Here are four things I learned that made my illness worth the suffering.

1.     When you can’t do anything but lie around, you have lots of time to think between coughs and sneezes.

2.     Lots of time to think means lots of time I can spend in the imaginary worlds I should be writing about at the computer.

3.     Insomnia, from lack of sleep due to an inability to breathe, opens up new plot pathways and scenes I never considered. Granted, some of the material may be too far out there to use once I’ve have my full brain back in gear, but, hey, I explored new ideas.

4.     After weeks of not writing, I’m soooo ready to get back to the computer and test some of those concepts that my germ-muddled mind created. And for any writer, that renewed zest is a huge bonus!

So, here’s to cold and flu season. Thank goodness it’s short!

 

 Catherine CastleAbout Catherine Castle

When this  an award-winning author isn’t writing inspirational and sweet romance, she loves to quilt, garden, and do other crafty things.

This entry was posted in News From the Castle!, Soul Mate Publishing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Five Reasons Writers Should Welcome a Head Cold by Catherine Castle

  1. I admire being able to put a silver lining on a head cold. I might just try that next time I’m sick – which will be soon with kids at 4 and 1 in the house 🙂

  2. You always make me want to get sick. I said, almost! Feel better and get back to work.

  3. Commented, Fb’d & Tweeted

Leave a Reply

