Creative brain Idea.

Like so many aspiring authors, I work a full-time job, and write during my nights and weekends. My day job, rather than being creative, is just the opposite: I work in scientific research. So I’m one of those folks who constantly bounces from using the left side of my brain to the right.

So far I’ve managed the Ping-Pong game fairly well. My days are filled with science speak: consulting with researchers, calculating antibody dilutions, and working out scientific protocols. In the evening, I let the other side of my brain come out to play, often squeezing at least an hour or two of writing into each weekday. My weekends are filled with blissful hours of writing, researching for my work-in-progress, mapping out new scenes and situations for the next book. In short, giving my imagination a workout. It’s exhilarating, but can also be exhausting. When Monday inevitably returns, I often don’t mind reviving the slumbering scientific side.ping.pong

But other times, like when I’m deep into the final stages of a project, the chasm between the two worlds widens—exponentially.

I recently completed my second New Gothic romance novel, and was hurtling through the polishing process before it went to my editor. Over the past two months, I had written an additional 40,000 words to complete the book, then went through the manuscript twice doing edits. Every weekend, from Friday afternoon until Monday morning, my mind spent 90% of its waking hours in another place, another time, with imagined people—not the real ones in my life.

Thank God my husband is so patiently supportive of my writing passion, and my kids understand if they call or visit and I say, “I’m writing.” They know that even if they continue talking, I might not hear or remember a word they say.

Last week, my right brain didn’t play nice, meekly going back to sleep on Monday morning like it usually does. It issued an ultimatum. A frightening one.

staringI arrived at work on Monday at 7:00 a.m., sat down at my desk to begin planning the experiments for the day, and COULD NOT FOCUS. The words and numbers and chemical names on the page and screen looked like gibberish. I’d dragged my body into my daytime world, but my mind was screaming as loud as it could –           Nooooo!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

The problem was, my thoughts were still several hundred miles away, in a little village called Loch Sheldrake, N.Y. where my story takes place. I was still thinking about my story, my characters, my ghosts, the carefully researched scuba diving scene. Images kept flashing in my head, ones that should be included in the book trailer to capture the tone and story line. Is the music quite right? What key words need to flash on the screen during the clips?

It took me an hour and several cups of coffee to lasso my right brain, beat it into submission, and lock it away for the day. The experience was painful, and disturbing, as I’ve always loved my day job. And heaven knows, I’m a long way from giving it up to write full time.

It is my goal, my long-term, 3 to 5-year plan. But that still means I’ll be playing brain Ping-Pong for several more years. If my right brain keeps this up, I’m in big trouble.

Does anyone else struggle with living two lives? Because as a creative who also has to live/work/function in the real world, that’s often exactly what we must do. How do you cope?twolives

Claire Gem writes contemporary romance with a ghostly twist, a genre she calls The New Gothic. Her debut novel from SMP, Phantom Traces, is available in eBook, Paperback, and audiobook from Amazon. Visit Claire at her Website or Blog, and be the first to receive updates via her newsletter!PHANTOM TRACES_505x825

 

 

 

About Frances Brown

Frances is a multi-published, award winning author of both fiction and nonfiction. She also writes under the pen name, Claire Gem. A native of New York, USA, she now resides in Massachusetts, USA with her husband of 39 years.
Link | This entry was posted in Soul Mate Publishing. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Painful Shifts

  1. Pingback: Painful Shifts – Tracey A Wood 'The Authors Blog'

  2. Great blog! Great blog, I’m so admiring of people that have that two brain function even if it is confusing at times. I have a similar but different problem. I’m kind of a “jack of all trades, master of none.” My personal goal is to make writing the one I master.
    Thanks for sharing.
    Tema Merback
    Writing as Belle Ami

  3. summersrye says:

    Yes, Claire, I have the same issue. I work mornings and into early afternoon on my creative endeavors. Mid afternoon I break, change into my uniform and go to …er.. work. There I try to concentrate on safety and security matters, remaining alert to my surroundings. Since I dislike my job to the point of it feeling toxic to me, let’s just say it’s difficult.
    My one saving grace? Because I am so mobile there, I can –and do– frequently grab paper and stop somewhere to scribble my creative thoughts.

  4. L.D. Rose says:

    Definitely can relate! I’m a doctor by day, but I love both of my careers and hope I can maintain them for as long as possible. 🙂

Leave a Reply

