Spring and Writing

I have come to the conclusion that sometimes writing is like the coming of spring – one day your writing comes easy, the next like it’s fighting Old Man Winter. Earlier this week the temperatures in northern Wisconsin were in the low-sixties. In this neck of the woods, that is balmy at this time of the year. People wear shorts and flip flops. Walking with a sweatshirt on is like running in 90 degree weather. We’ve had a day of 70 degree, then the next 39 degrees.

View from my patio door yesterday. I long to sit out on that chair and write in the warm summer sun. C'mon Mother Nature!

View from my patio door yesterday. I long to sit out on that chair and write in the warm summer sun. C’mon Mother Nature!

Yesterday, April Fool’s Day, I woke up to snow. A few light flurries, the weatherman said the night before. It won’t stick to the ground, he said. Will melt right away, he said. Well, Mother Nature pulled a joke on us. The snow did melt fairly quickly, but all day the wind has been howling, then the sun would peak out. Then a blast of snow hit us. Then the sun again. It’s like spring is constantly fighting winter and has no idea what it’s doing.

What does this have to do with writing? I recently finished a manuscript. One that I felt I was constantly fighting the words like Mother Nature is fighting the weather. As I said to a friend after one particularly frustrating morning of writing: “Writing today is like trying to catch a whale with a hook meant for a minnow.”

One day the words flowed, and I was on top of the world. The next I re-read what I wrote,  realized the story was going nowhere, and deleted 15,000 words. After that I was positive I knew I was on the right track. Four days later – nope! Deleted another 25,000 words. Some days I could write 1,00o words in little over an hour. Others I’m lucky if I could manage 300.Code FL35

But unlike the weather, I persevered and finished the book. It’s now in the hands of my reader. I’m anxious to hear if she thinks I won the battle against words – unlike Mother Nature who is still howling outside my window. THINK SPRING!!!!!

 

P.S. I hope the weather is better when I go to The Romantic Times Convention in Vegas April 12-18th!!!

Tina SusedikTina writes contemporary romance for Soul Mate. She recently signed her fifth and sixth contracts with them. She is currently working on her submission, “The Trail to Love,” for Soul Mate’s “The Soul Mate Tree.” Luckily she doesn’t seem to be fighting the words so far.  Tina can be found at: http://www.tinasusedik.com  Pinterest,  Amazon, Twitter,  and Facebook.

About Tina Susedik, Author

Please visit my website. New updates to come.
This entry was posted in Catching Up With Tina S! and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Spring and Writing

  1. Writing is such a mercurial experience. Whether it flows or not can depend on what side of the bed you got up on. One just never knows. Thanks for sharing.
    Tema Merback
    Writing as Belle Ami

    PS: I’m pretty sure you won’t have to worry about Vegas, bring your flipflops.

  2. Thanks for commenting. I bought new sandals yesterday. Sooooo looking forward to some warm weather!!

Leave a Reply

