The Legacy of Grandmothers

16449456_sGrandmothers play a big role in my fiction. They are feisty, strong, wise women who always speak their mind. They always support the heroine and always tell her like it is. They’ve been women who epitomize the word character, in all ways. I love them. And I’ve always had fun writing them. Part of that reason is because my own grandmothers played such an elemental role in my development. As I write this blog post, my last remaining grandmother is fighting for her life in hospice care. She had a massive stroke recently and things don’t look good. So I just wanted to take a moment to reflect on the single most important legacy my grandmother gave me.

Stubbornness.

You might laugh, saying, that’s not a legacy. Not one anyone would want to own up to. I disagree.

My grandmother is one of the most stubborn people I know. She went to work during WWII when my grandfather was away fighting in Italy and she raised two fine sons. And she’s never stopped working since. She has one of the cleanest houses I’ve ever seen. And her network of friends is an amazing thing to behold.

My whole family on that side has gotten the stubbornness trait, and I attribute that to her legacy. Now some may think this is not a good character quality. I beg to differ. In this day and age, stubbornness is more necessary than just about anything else to survive. And to survive well.

Most days, I get through life because of the legacy she gave me. I am the glue that holds my family together. I’ve been through ups and downs that I hope my kids never have to experience. However, I’ve been able to navigate these often treacherous waters because of the calming influence of the strong, quietly stubborn presence of my grandmother in my life. Even when I moved to the D.C. area and she lived 200 miles away. She’s one of those voices I hear in my head. Since I was a little girl, she’s prayed for me daily. She’s an example of someone who always worked hard. Someone who was never afraid to tell you she loved you. For a little thing, she never backed down … in her own quiet way, she stood for what she believed in. She always believed in me. And I always knew I was loved. That’s quite a legacy. One I’ll always be thankful to have received.

So thank you grandma. I love you. And I’m praying for you.8719623_s

 

 

 

 

 

About The Bodywork Exchange Frederick

The Bodywork Exchange Frederick offers a wide variety of mind-body-spirit healing services for both men and women. We offer a range of holistic methods of massage, bodywork, and energy work in a relaxing, downtown setting.
This entry was posted in Soul Mate Publishing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Legacy of Grandmothers

  1. Stubbornness is possibly the most important trait to possess as an author. You need a thick skin to be able to navigate through the negativity that faces you when you strive to see your work succeed. It takes stubbornness and determination. Thanks for reminding us what an important role model a grandmother can be. I’m praying for your grandma!

  2. Deborah Barnhart says:

    You have a special Grandma! Beautiful tribute. Holding her in my prayers!

Leave a Reply

