Loglines and Laughter – Happy Mother’s Day

A lot of great things have happened since I started writing 5 years ago. I feel like my brain’s expanded with all the stuff I’ve learned, I’ve met some really fun, talented authors (like the group at Soul Mate Publishing), and I’ve scraped the surface of the 21st century social media craze by joining Facebook and Twitter (still have a way to go with Instagram). I’m feeling pretty proud of myself! But the best moment by far happened recently. My teenage son came home from school and mentioned that he had learned about loglines in drama class. AND I KNEW WHAT HE WAS TALKING ABOUT!!

question-mark-1119854_1920Now this may not seem like much to other people, but most of the time when my son is talking to me, he’s telling me about what happened to his character in a scrim or game he’s played online. I do a lot of smiling and nodding and trying to avoid the wrinkled forehead ‘I’m really trying to understand this, but I have no idea what you’re talking about’ look. So when he came home and started telling me about loglines, I was doing a happy dance inside. FINALLY, something we could have a conversation about – which I get!

 

film photoLast spring, I attended a film rights workshop with Candace Havens hosted by the Toronto Romance Writers. She talked about high concept, one sheet, and loglines (which I see from my notes I thought was a longline haha). A logline is basically a one-sentence description of the essential concept of a story. As an exercise, we were given time to write a logline for our own novel, and I have to say, it’s actually pretty tricky (that’s an understatement).

 

During his class, my son had to come up with some simple loglines for movies. Here’s what he came up with:

Star Wars – Family problems ruin the galaxy.

Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs – Finding true love through food-induced coma.

Fight Club – One man fights himself.

Finding Nemo – Daddy issues under the sea.

Little Mermaid – Family issues under the sea.

 

party-1249224_1920

Pretty clever, eh? (no bias there) I came to the conclusion that the ability to write loglines is a gift. I was tempted to ask my son to come up with a logline for my novel, but I don’t think he’ll be reading my romance novel anytime soon (shudder at the thought of my son reading the sex scenes). But it was really fun that we could share a laugh together – another plus to my writing career! Happy Mother’s Day – enjoy the day with your children!

 

Linda O’Connor is still trying to figure out a logline for Perfectly Honest. She started writing a few years ago when she needed a creative outlet other than subtly rearranging the displays at HomeSense. It turns out she loves writing romantic comedies and has a few more stories to tell. When not writing, she’s a physician at an Urgent Care Clinic (well, even when she is writing she’s a physician, and it shows up in her stories). She hangs out at http://www.lindaoconnor.net.

Laugh every day. Love every minute.

Website      Twitter     Facebook     Amazon Author Page     Soul Mate Publishing

 

 

Perfectly Honest coverYou never know where your words will take you. . .

When Mikaela Finn agreed to be Sam’s ‘fiancée’ for a weekend, she probably should have told him that she’s a doctor. Sam O’Brien, aka ‘Dr. Eye Candy’, is trying to shed his playboy reputation and convince a small town hospital that he’s ready to settle down. But when his ‘fiancée’ helps deliver a baby in the middle of the meet and greet, it’s a bit of a shock. If he’d known the whole truth, he might have done things a little differently because somehow his ‘fiancée’ ends up stealing his job and his heart. Not exactly the change he wanted.

Lies and deceit – it’s a match made in heaven!

This entry was posted in Linda's LoveLines, Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Loglines and Laughter – Happy Mother’s Day

  1. It’s always nice to be able to relate and understand what your child is saying! Bravo! Your son has a knack, no question. Happy Mother’s Day!

  2. My middle son is a junior drama student. This week we drove 7 hours to watch his stunning, gut-wrenching performance as John Proctor in The Crucible. Unforgettable experience, but next time I want a logline instead (not really).

Leave a Reply

