Strategic Writing Goals with Maggie Mundy

I was going through my computer and discovered this document I had written three years ago. I had completely forgotten about it, so it was fun t see what I had written. Sometimes I think it is good for all of us to sit back and see what we have achieved. It is to easy to feel as if you are swimming against the tide. The italics are today’s comments on the past

Strategic Goal

Five year Plan. I will be published, and a bestseller, and be asked to go to RWA America and talk on a panel.

I am published so I get one tick. Still waiting on the bestseller and the talk but it is nice to dream.

Supporting Goals

Book Goal:  

I will improve my craft. I will then send it off to competitions, publishers and agents. I will use what I have learned from the other books I have written. I will finish my manuscript World change so that I have all completed manuscripts.

I have finished The Earthbound Trilogy, and the third book will be out later this year. I have also started on the Midworlder Trilogy, and the third book is well under way. I have made the finals in competitions and was nominated for an award. I have seven books published so far. I am giving myself a pat on the back.

Intent, because I will never progress to the next level with my writing if I don’t.

Business Goal:

I want to be published in book format by a traditional publisher for Unmasked like Tor, but with my other books, I would like that as well but can see ebooks are the future. When books are up to a standard with craft will target agents first.

I will make a list of agents interested in my genre.

Intent  Keep an eye on the market and how it is changing.

I will attend seminars and writers conferences and pitch.

Not only am I attending conferences, but I am also on the organizing committee for the Romance Writers of Australia Conference for this year.

Intent , so that I can do the best to achieve getting published.

I made it.

Short Range:

I will finish World Change at the retreat.

Intent. So that I have completed manuscripts to work on.

I did finish it, and it is published along with book two World Apart and book three Worlds Reclaimed comes out this year.

Daily

I will work on one chapter to hone my craft every day.

Intent. The stories are there I just need to get better with my writing.

Work on. Active versus passive voice

Work on grammar.

Work on deep point of view.

Work on POV.

Intent. These will make my writing more appealing to a reader.

DON’T LOSE YOUR VOICE when you make all these changes.

It is what makes your writing unique

I intend to do this all over again and try to come back and look at it once a year to see what I have achieved. Good luck with your dreams everybody.

Maggie Mundy lives in Adelaide, Australia and is a member of Romance Writers of Australia, and the local chapter SARA (South Australian Romance Authors). She recently completed a Bachelor of Arts in Drama and English at Flinders University. She has four books out with Rogue Phoenix Press, two of them erotic novellas and two paranormal romances. She also has a supernatural thriller out with Soul Mate Publishing called Hidden Mortality and two more paranormal romances Unknown Protector ad Scarred Protector.

Where you can find me online.

http://www.pinterest.com/maggiemundy/

http://www.soulmatepublishing.com/http://www.pinterest.com/maggiemundy/

https://www.facebook.com/MaggieMundyAuthor

http://tinyurl.com/lfy3ymr Amazon Link

http://www.maggiemundy.com

https://twitter.com/MundyMaggie

http://maggiemundy.blogspot.com.au

 

This entry was posted in Soul Mate Publishing. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Strategic Writing Goals with Maggie Mundy

  1. Great advice, it is important to set goals and then hopefully you will reach goals.
    Thank Maggie,
    Tema Merback
    Writing as Belle Amoi

  2. maggiermundy says:

    Hopefully we can be the panel together Belle Ami

Leave a Reply

