Binge Reading

IMG_0997 MouseTea 2014My idea of taking a camper trip or vacation is to get away from phones, TV, and computers. Unfortunately, being an author, that luxury is no longer an option for me. Of course, I go no-mail on all list servers that I can, however, the messages from other sources have to be dealt with, including the spam and junk emails so I don’t have a full email box when I get home.

My husband and I just got back from Ye Spring Camper Outing. It’s more or less the “shake-down” getaway to check what works and doesn’t work after the camper’s winter storage.  This type of trip ensures a happier camping experience for the rest of the season.

Of course, I take my Samsung tablet, my Kindle, the cell phone, and the laptop with me. Having so many electronics that require recharging, my husband installed an outlet strip for them and, luckily,they all stack in one cupboard. I also appreciate that once out of sight they are out of mind.

Sadly, being an author, much of my time is taken up by marketing or writing or editing stories, as well as giving workshops for writers and doing conferences. There never seems to be time to just read for enjoyment until the camper trips. Which leads to binge reading. On last fall’s camper trip, I binged and read thirteen books, mostly fiction but a couple were nonfiction. I have eclectic taste in reading (if it appeals to me, I read it.)

On this five-day camper outing, I read nine books (ebooks as well as paperbacks). This batch of books included paranormal, mystery, historical romances, regency romances, time-travel romance, and sci-fi (no romance, just a good space opera). Best of the batch? The sci-fi. It had me curious and guessing the outcome. Best of the romances, a Christmas Regency novella. Why are these two the best? Because the stories are still remembered, their plots echoing. That’s because of their outstandingly interesting characters, in an interesting setting, facing an interesting problem.

Until the next camper outing, I’ll be perusing the book stacks (and ebook lists) for more good reads.

So, when you go on vacation, do you read books?QR code CEM

 

 

 

# # #

About Catherine McLean

Author, Writing Instructor, Workshop Speaker. Home Web page for Readers is www.CatherineEmclean.com and for Writers it's www.WritersCheatSheets.com *** SPECIAL NOTE: My novel, Karma and Mayhem, earned a Night Owl Top Pick Review! ***
This entry was posted in Catherine's Cup of Tea!, Soul Mate Publishing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Binge Reading

  1. Anne Cleasby says:

    I’d love to know what the Scifi was – I love Scifi if it’s good . . .

    • The book is FLUENCY by Jennifer Foehner Wells @ 2014. I, too, have difficulty finding good sci-fi. Far too much of it is techno-heavy, male linear, or so far outside the box of understanding and real-reality that the story is a turnoff. I write sci-fi but it’s always lighthearted and you do not have to know quantum physics to understand anything! LOL

  2. Beth Carter says:

    You must be a fast reader! It is nice to go on vacation and unplug! I know what you mean about having to sift through junk emails so you don’t have hundreds upon your return. Nice post and I recently read a sci fi I enjoyed as well. Not my normal fare but it was really good.

    • I don’t consider myself a fast reader at all. The fact that there are no interruptions, other than potty breaks, or to grab a snack, means I have hours to just read. By the way, what was that sci-fi you enjoyed reading?

  3. Hi Catherine, thanks for sharing your binge read addiction. I read every day, not necessarily a lot, it all depends on what’s happening with my writing, editing, or marketing. I find even 10-20 pages before I go to bed relaxes me and keeps up to date on my to be read pile. Consequently, I probably read a hundred or more books a year. Anne, I’ll share a sci-fi book that will knock your socks off (I don’t usually read sci-fi), Justin Cronin’s: The Passage, The Twelve, and his just released The City of Mirrors. He’s extraordinary, I’m buying the new one today.
    Tema Merback
    Writing as Belle Ami

  4. Barbara Monajem says:

    I don’t usually binge-read, but lately I got completely hooked on Lois McMaster Bujold’s Vorkosigan series (which is sci-fi!). I had read and enjoyed some of them years ago, but suddenly a few months ago I started reading them all — those I had read before and those that were new to me. Almost done now, and I will be sad when I’m finished!

  5. It’s always nice to revisit the old classics and, especially, if a series, enjoying the entire story without having to wait for the next book to be published. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

