Cool Treats for Non-Foodies

coffeebanana2This past week, we experienced an early bout of summer in southern Ontario. As the Humidex soared, I found myself spending more time in air-conditioned comfort and less time preparing meals.

Not such a bad thing for a non-foodie, but I do have to eat and maintain optimum energy levels, especially when I’m in the writing and editing caves.

Here are some of my favorite go-to foods during the dog days of summer.

 

Super Easy

  • Start the day with a smoothie. Puree in a blender until smooth: one banana, 1 cup skim milk, 6 ice cubes, 1 scoop of chocolate whey protein (strawberry and vanilla also work) and 2 tablespoons of ground flax seeds.
  • Place a scoop (or two) of cottage cheese on a luncheon plate. Surround with cut-up fruit. My favorites include cantaloupe, pineapple and strawberries.
  • Drop a Popsicle stick in a fresh cheese cup and freeze it for a cool snack.
  • Mix one-half cup of plain yogurt with one mashed ripe avocado, one diced tomato, and chili powder (to your taste). Serve as a dip for tortilla chips.
  • Pick your favorite berries (strawberries, blueberries, raspberries, etc.) and wash them carefully. Line a cookie sheet with wax paper and place the berries in a single layer. Freeze the fruit and then store in freezer bags or airtight containers.
  • Add fresh grapes and toasted almonds to your favorite instant milk-based pudding.
  • Place a scoop of frozen yogurt between two graham cracker squares. Roll the edges in chocolate chips and freeze until firm.

Recipes

Fruit and Ricotta Split

Ingredients

½ small banana

½ cup strawberries

½ cup low-fat ricotta cheese

Sweetener (to taste)

Directions

  1. Cut banana length-wise and open onto a plate.
  2. Top with ricotta cheese.
  3. Sweeten strawberries to taste and spoon over cheese.

Iced Coffee

  1. Brew a pot of fresh coffee using two tablespoons of dark-roasted ground coffee per cup. Add sugar or sweetener.
  2. Transfer the hot coffee to a carafe, and let it cool to room temperature.
  3. Refrigerate until cold, usually two to three hours.
  4. Pour the chilled coffee into glasses and stir.
  5. Optional: Add ½ cup of milk for increased calcium.
  6. Optional: Add crème de cacao or cinnamon schnapps for increased flavor.
  7. Note: I would not combine #5 and #6.

 Funky Monkey Coffee Drink

This extra-special treat is chock full of calcium, potassium, and of course, caffeine. I found the recipe in Joy’s Life Diet by Joy Bauer.

Ingredients

¾ cup cold coffee

½ peeled medium banana, sliced and frozen

1 tbsp chocolate syrup

¼ cup non-fat vanilla yogurt

Place all ingredients in a blender and blend thoroughly. Makes one serving.

Any other suggestions for cool treats…Please share!

Where to find Joanne Guidoccio…

Website | Amazon | Twitter | Facebook | LinkedIn | Goodreads | Pinterest

About Joanne Guidoccio

After retiring from a 31-year teaching career, I launched my second act as a writer. My articles, book reviews and short stories have been published in newspapers, magazines and online. Soul Mate Publishing will release my debut novel, Between Land and Sea, in the fall of 2013.
This entry was posted in Soul Mate Publishing. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Cool Treats for Non-Foodies

  1. I love to try new recipes- they sound delicious! I’m a total foodie!!! I love to cook and eat!

  2. Beth Carter says:

    I like the sound of the Funky Monkey Coffee! I’ll have to try it. Lemonade is a good summer drink, as is water with sliced fruit. I’ve tried oranges, strawberries, and cucumbers (separately). All are refreshing and look so pretty in a glass pitcher!

  3. I’m a foodie, so I always appreciate a great recipe.
    Thanks,
    Tema Merback
    Writing as Belle Ami

  4. Commented, Fb’d & Tweeted

  5. Couldn’t survive summer in Texas without iced coffee.

  6. Smoothies are my life blood for mornings. I can’t do any dairy – so many of the others are off my list. I add an Avocado to the smoothie as well as a teaspoon of Tumeric, frozen berries, almond milk, my Vit C and D crushed up and I open 3 pro-Biotic caps and dump in the contents.
    For another cool treat – keep a couple of bananas peeled and frozen. Put in a whizzer of some type, add just a splash of almond milk and Vanilla flavoring. whip them up; layer in a tall dessert cup with Reese’s peanut butter and chocolate spread! My guests always love it.

  7. kathybryson says:

    Great list! I can’t stand turning on the oven in Florida in the summer! 😉

Leave a Reply

