Writer’s and their creations

Hello Everyone.

Whoops. I forgot today is my day to blog. I’ve been knee deep in Sheepsquatch scat with my new story. Anyways, I posted this post on a different site a few months ago. I apologize if you’ve seen it before 🙂

Most writers not only create stories on the page but they also have some other creative outlet. Some like to make jewelry, teddy bears, or even paint.

I guess we need to have an additional outlet for our creativity.

Putting around in my fairy garden is not only relaxing, but helps me brainstorm. There’s something about digging in the dirt that spurs my imagination. I can spend hours out there pulling weeds and rearranging the furniture or setting up little doors. I even have a miniature graveyard. The sunshine and fresh air clear my head and gives me a new perspective on things.

fairy garden 2

Unfortunately, I live in the north and can only garden about four or five months a year. So when the cold hits, I make videos of animals up for adoption at my local rescue. Not only does this push my creativity but these videos help the animals find homes. The adoption rate for the animals that have videos is much higher than those who don’t. It’s my way to give back to society.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hVZe7JKsLMY

Max was adopted a couple months after the video went live. He was in foster care for almost two years prior. He had some special needs so it was harder for him to find a home. But he did find a family who loves him very much.

Halloween is another very creative time for me. I pull my skeletons from my office and attach them to my home in different poses. I also made a haunted house from a dollhouse. Decorating and crafting is so much fun this time of year.

haunted dollhouse 2.png

Being creative is a lot of fun, but writing stories is the best feeling. Just knowing you created a whole world with characters that people actually enjoy and want to spend their spare time with, fills my heart with such joy.

What do you do to be creative when you’re not writing?

Bonnie 1Bonnie Gill grew up in the suburbs right outside Chicago. As a child she loved making up ghost stories at night to scare her sisters and friends.
She writes Paranormal Romance with a twist of humor. When she isn’t writing you can find her on a haunted tour, volunteering at pet rescues, or digging around in her fairy garden waiting for fairies to show. She’s a member of Romance Writers of America, the Fantasy, Futuristic, & Paranormal chapter and the Windy City chapter.
She lives in Northern Illinois with her four rescue dogs, a big fat cat, and her ever patient boyfriend who laughs at all her goofy jokes.
She loves to hear from her readers

TemptingTheLight_105x158Click here to purchase

This entry was posted in Soul Mate Publishing, The Blog According to Bonnie!. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Writer’s and their creations

Leave a Reply

