Becoming a vampire…venturing into the night(shift)

Good morning everyone. As some of you may know if you follow me on Facebook, I recently decided to make a career change. One that requires me to become one of the undead. Just kidding. I’m not becoming a nocturnal monster that drinks blood-either real or synthetic and I am not going to burst into flames upon entering sunlight (or sparkle like diamonds if you like the Twilight version. I do by the way but I’m sure it was more the love story part than the sparkling).

 

Anyway, the point I am trying to  make is that I am learning to have to stay up all night long and sleep through the day. This requires some major changes in my natural habit. It also requires changes for my family.

What changes you ask? Well, lucky for you, I have a list.

#1. My loving hubby will be the one to get the kids up for school in the morning. (A job in itself). YAY!

sleep

#2. He will have to make his own coffee

coffee

#3. And pack his own lunch

lunch bag

But there will be changes for me as well.

 

#1. Staying awake all night

up all night 2

#2. Making my bedroom as dark as possible so I can sleep.

dark room

#3. Blocking out all of the daytime noises

when_you_stay_up_all_night2

#4. Avoid falling asleep halfway through the afternoon when my family is home

sleepy woman

These changes will be difficult but in the end, I think it will be a wise move for both me and my family. Not to be negative about becoming a vampire, I also want to list some of the benefits to working nights.

#1. More money

money

#2. Medical/dental/vision benefits

benefits

#3. Life insurance

life insurance

#2. Having the bed to myself

bed

#3. Still being able to see my family

family time

#4.Still being able to go to the kids’ functions at schools (parties, parent teacher conferences, field trips, etc.)

party

#5. Tucking my kids (and hubby) in at night before I go to work.

tcuk     husband bed

#6. Quiet writing time

book writing

All in all, I think it will be okay. We will all have to make some adjustments and I will have to avoid looking like a zombie.

zombie

Because vampires are so much better….

vampire

Thanks everyone for stopping by and checking out my blog. If you have any tips on transitioning from a day time dweller to a creature of the night, please leave me a comment. Thanks and enjoy!

 

 

About AmesGrace

I am a working wife, mother, and new author. In my free time, I love to read, write, and take pictures. I enjoy spending time with my family and friends. We do a lot of bike riding, playing sports, swimming, and watching movies.
This entry was posted in Ambling Along With Amy!, Soul Mate Publishing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Becoming a vampire…venturing into the night(shift)

  1. kathybryson says:

    Best Wishes with it! It’s tough balancing life, but sounds like you’re on it!

Leave a Reply

