Change is Good (I think) by Rebecca Heflin

when-youre-finished-changing-youre-finishedYou know the old adage “Change is good?” Well, after fifteen years as legal counsel for a major research university, I decided it was time to move on. Same employer, different role.

I’ll admit, I’m not fond of change. Which may seem odd for someone who reinvents herself every ten to fifteen years. I’ve worked in medical administration, gone to law school, practiced law, become a writer, and now I’m reinventing myself yet again. So, while I may not like it, I tend to do it every so often.

As humans, we like our comfort zones. Even when those comfort zones have become uncomfortable. Why? Because even if it’s uncomfortable, it’s a known discomfort. After all, what if we leave our comfort zone only to find we’ve gone from the proverbial frying pan into the fire?

But what if leaving our comfort zone was the best decision we ever made? I left my comfort zone big-time when I decided to pursue writing. What if, instead, I’d shoved my dream of writing into a box in the back of my closet because to pursue it was to push my boundaries? To make me come out of the closet, er, so to speak?

I wouldn’t have five books published, that’s what. Nor would I have met so many amazing people!

Here are a few reasons why change is good:

  • It helps us grow.
  • It challenges us.
  • It reveals our strength.
  • It offers opportunities.
  • It offers a new beginning.

I’ve been at my job less than a full week, and I already feel re-energized. That energy has carried over to other aspects of my life, including my writing. And the funny thing about change – when you make one change for the better, it inspires you to make more changes for the better.

So, the adage is an adage because it’s true. Change is good.

What about you? How do you feel about change? What change have you made recently?

This entry was posted in According to Rebecca, Soul Mate Publishing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Change is Good (I think) by Rebecca Heflin

  1. I don’t really like change either, but like you, I find that when I do, it trickles down into all the other areas of my life and just makes things better. Congrats on the new job!

  2. Beth Carter says:

    I, too, force myself to change often and it’s uncomfortable at first but I love a challenge! Congrats on your new job. What is it?

  3. Thanks, Rebecca! Like you I tend to reinvent myself and seek new avenues of pursuit. When I decided to finally write, most of my friends, family, and acquaintances pooh-poohed it. Well, like you, my fourth book was published by SMP in July and my next will be published at the end of the year. I’m halfway through the next, and I’m looking forward to writing more.
    Change is definitely good!
    Tema Merback
    Writing as Belle Ami

  4. Thanks for stopping by and sharing.

  5. Actually, Beth, I don’t. I advised our ethics board for 13 years, so I’m just very familiar with the science and the law. And one of the novellas I’m working on is about a researcher. 😉

  6. Pingback: Post Script by Rebecca Heflin |

Leave a Reply

