Confessions of a Pinterest Addict

Hello, my name is Mia and I’m addicted to Pinterest. In a world of social media demands, I’ll fully admit that I loathe Twitter and find Facebook more personal. I don’t think fast enough for Instagram, and I usually have my hands too full to take pictures. An Snapchat only works if there’s someone on the other end of the conversation. I don’t really do random.

But Pinterest? Sign me up.

See, I’m a frustrated librarian. I even work in a library. Give me a way to find information and to categorize it how I think, and I’m hooked. Make it graphic and pretty, and I will spend all day looking at faraway places, investigating paint schemes for my kitchen, and looking at candy. Hey – staring doesn’t add calories to my diet. (Because I’m never actually going to make a triple layer amaretto cheesecake.)

I love it for my writing, honestly. If I find a blog post that resonates, I can pin it and find it later. Pointers, encouragement, tips and advice, story prompts. I find scene inspirations and characters’ fashion choices.

However, what tickles my friends the most, is that I find my heroes on Pinterest. I’m a huge fan of TV and movies anyway, so I’ve always kept a mental Rolodex of actors. I’m the kid who read the articles in TV Guide.

Pinterest makes it easier to find actors I’ve never seen, especially since I’m writing and supposedly not paying attention to the television. But I don’t limit it to actors – models, surfers, athletes … I’m an equal opportunity pinner.

Why does this matter to me? Because I can devise a plot and a conflict, I can even set a scene. But I can’t get into the head of my characters until I know what my hero looks like. I find his voice after I find his face. And after that, I can figure out why my heroine loves him.

So, if you see me online, staring dreamily at pretty pictures – whether it’s cheesecake or boys – don’t worry. It’s research.

If you’re so inclined, you can find my alter-ego on Pinterest.

What about you? What’s your favorite social media addiction and why? How do you find your writing inspiration?

Mia 

Find me at:
About Mia Kay

I am the author of Soft Target, published by Carina Press.
This entry was posted in Happy Days With Mia, Inspiration, Social Media. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

