Giving Thanks for 20 Wonderful Years

happy-anniversaryOn November 1st, I was fortunate enough to celebrate my twentieth anniversary as a published author. Since then, I’ve had so many starts and stops in my career even I wasn’t sure where it was going.

I sold my first book within months of attending the 1996 RWA conference in Dallas, TX. Courting Trouble, part of the quickly-defunct Precious Gems line (a joint effort between the publisher and Wal-Mart Corp), became my foot in the door to the inner sanctum of published authors.

1-courting-troubleIt was a different publishing world back then. Manuscripts were submitted in hard-copy. Edits were really done in red ink with mark-ups (editor’s shorthand) and everything was sent back and forth via the U.S. Postal Service. For those of you who are fairly new to this crazy profession, back in the 90’s they didn’t use stock photo sites. The publishers held their own photo shoots and some even commissioned artists to create their cover. Mine was painted by the renowned romance cover artist, Pino.

Unfortunately, the euphoria of becoming published stalled out quickly following an amicable divorce and the need to return to a full-time job in order to support myself. Still, I never actually stopped writing, I just took longer and longer to finish a book.

I wouldn’t sell my next book until 2006. My friend and writing partner, the late Patti Shenberger, and I sold one of our joint projects to a newly minted publisher. I was skeptical … especially after the quick demise of the Precious Gems line. However, hoping for the best, I signed on. Ten years later, I still write for that publisher.

Books three through six came quickly, gleaned from manuscripts I’d been working on slowly over the previous years. I was on a roll … or so I thought.

Everything came to yet a second screeching halt in 2010 when health issues intervened! Again that writing career I longed for was put on hold. But only for awhile. In 2013 I began writing and selling again and, much to my delight, became part of the Soul Mate Publishing family in 2014.

feast-on-books

As we approach tomorrow’s “turkey day” and then the holidays that follow, I find myself replaying my bumpy ride over and over in my head. I’m thankful for having a career…as chaotic as it turned out to be…and for the honor of being able to entertain people with my writing.

23-eye-of-the-pharaohSince that very first book twenty years ago, I’ve sold 24 more, my most recent release an Egyptian-themed, time travel romance, Eye of the Pharaoh, from Soul Mate.

I sometimes wonder how many more years…how many more books…I’ve got in me as a writer. I’d like to think I’m just getting started. My intent is to be that crazy old lady in the nursing home, one hand on her computer and the other on her oxygen mask and still writing steamy prose. I hope you’ll all stick it out with me!

Thank you for stopping by today. Wishing everyone a safe and joyous holiday season!

Nancy

 

 

About Nancy Fraser

Like most authors, Nancy began writing at an early age, usually on the walls and with crayons or, heaven forbid, permanent markers. Her love of writing often made her the English teacher’s pet, which, of course, resulted in a whole lot of teasing. Still, it was worth it. When not writing (which is almost never), Nancy dotes on her five beautiful grandchildren and looks forward to traveling and reading when time permits. Nancy lives in Atlantic Canada where she enjoys the relaxed pace and colorful people.
This entry was posted in Nanobytes From Nancy!, Soul Mate Publishing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Giving Thanks for 20 Wonderful Years

  1. Your story reminds me of a saying on a teabag tag that I stuck over my computer at work: Nothing is stronger than the human spirit. The writer in us emerges over and over again. Wonderful post, Nancy! –kate

    • Nancy Fraser says:

      Kate, I know a few writers who’ve had their starts and stops. And, I agree, we do emerge over and over again … no matter what field we choose.

Leave a Reply

