This post is not about Christmas

December … Christmas … holidays … resolutions … family … cold weather … shopping crowds … gift stress … parties.

I’m going to come out of the closet as a total Christmas scrooge. Seriously. The holiday exhausts me, taxes my creativity, and makes me cranky. My husband, bless his soul, sends out all our Christmas cards. So today I’m not talking about Christmas.

pearl-harbor-81247_640

Today is the 75th anniversary of Pearl Harbor. I am married to a Word War II history buff. We spend the majority of our TV time watching the American Heroes Channel, and every year for his birthday I get him a new book for his library. This year it was one about the African theater.

world-war-ii-965052_640Rather than talking about Christmas, I thought I’d leave you with a few links about the war-time romances of the Greatest Generation. One captures goodbyes from soldiers who might not have made it home. The other captures the happiness of new love – both during the War and after. They’re sure to inspire a few plot bunnies if you’re looking for inspiration.

Time Magazine’s True Romance: The Heartache of Wartime Farewells, 1943

Pearl Harbor Love Stories

Thank you to the Veterans who have served and continue to serve. And thank you to their families for their sacrifices.

Happiest of holidays.

Mia KayMia 

Find me at:
About Mia Kay

I am the author of Soft Target, published by Carina Press.
This entry was posted in Happy Days With Mia. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to This post is not about Christmas

  1. gailingis says:

    Loved your war memorial post for December 7th, so fitting. A similar sculpture as your sailor and lady is a huge, beautiful work of art that we viewed as we drove by the statue in Sarasota, Florida and circled back to view again. The sculpture of the “Kiss” took my breath away.

Leave a Reply

