New Year, New Challenges

What?  It’s 2017 already?

I know you could have sworn we have only just had Christmas, but there are things to do now the New Year has arrived. My suggestion is that you slow down first. Don’t worry. I’m sure the hot cross buns will be in the supermarket next week. Like a deadline for a book the big day is upon us, and I for one am not ready but will still enjoy every part of it. This time of year can make people reflect on what has happened before they set their goals for next year. Goals are a great motivational tool but sometimes life can get in the way.

Others won’t but don’t worry. Hot cross buns are in the supermarket already. Like a deadline for a book, the new year is upon us. I for one am not ready, but will still enjoy every part of it. This time of year can make people reflect on what has happened before they set their goals for the year ahead. Goals are a great motivational tool but let me warn you that sometimes life can get in the way.

I was lucky enough to get books accepted and published this year, and also worked on the committee for the RWA conference in Adelaide, Australia. I wrote drafts of new books and pitched to publishers. What I didn’t plan were the major health issues for many members of my family, including myself and my three and half week old granddaughter who underwent heart surgery.

Sometimes when life throws a spanner in the works, it gives us a chance to reassess what we want and set different goals. So take this time to relax a little bit and enjoy life, friends, and family. Use the first month of the year to look at what you really want and above all do what you enjoy.

Bio Maggie Mundy

Hi, and welcome. I live in Adelaide, Australia with my husband, two cats, two dogs and a snake. I have a motorbike that I would like to ride more than I do and I love walking at the beach and listening to the waves.  I’ve always loved reading all forms of speculative fiction from high fantasy and paranormal to horror and decided the stories in my head needed to be written down. It was either that or start on medication. Unlike many I didn’t know I wanted to be a writer until a few years back.  I started off doing a degree in drama but soon realized my love was in writing, though there is a play lurking somewhere on my computer. My day job is as a nurse in the operating room which helps with research for my gory scenes. I believe romance can be fun to read and write but it’s exciting to spice it up with the uncertainty that comes with the worlds of mythical creatures where the rules can be broken.

 unknown-protector_105x158

Blurb Unknown Protector

Two things have helped Nicole cope since the murder of her husband a year ago. One is running her detective agency, and the other is her guardian angel, Mira. When Mira is killed by a demon, Nicole accepts the help of a Ridge.He is a long haired, cigar smoking diamond in the rough with wings. Things go from bad to worse when a replacement guardian cannot be found. She has to trust Ridge, which is tricky when she realizes there are no demons or angels, just parasitic aliens that humans have built the myths of these celestial beings around. Ridge isn’t an angel or a devil, but an alien half-breed known as a Midworlder.

http://www.pinterest.com/maggiemundy/

http://www.maggiemundy.com

https://twitter.com/MundyMaggie

http://maggiemundy.blogspot.com.au

https://www.facebook.com/MaggieMundyAuthor

http://tinyurl.com/lfy3ymr Amazon US Link

This entry was posted in Soul Mate Publishing. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to New Year, New Challenges

  1. A wise friend once sent me a card in the middle of a health crisis that had me out of action for months. On the cover was an exhausted rabbit flopped on the back of a strong turtle. The words told me, “Enjoy the slow times. They are a gift.” The experience sent my life In an entirely new direction, much better than what had come before. All the best!!

  2. maggiermundy says:

    I agree. I have a bad leg and broke my arm and will probably have surgery on my eyes. I am reassessing a lot. I think it is a positive thing.

  3. Bring on the Hot Cross buns. 2017 I’m coming for you!

  4. gailingis says:

    Awesome post Maggie. Thanks for sharing.

  5. Maggie Mundy says:

    My kids, who are now grown up used to call them Hot Grumpy Buns because they were crossed. The rest of the year they called the plain one hot happy buns.

Leave a Reply

