Re-Starting Those Resolutions

ny-memeMy first thought on December 31st was to resolve to make no resolutions. But where was the fun in that? My second thought was to choose carefully…resolve only those things I knew I could accomplish. Again…the easy way out. I decided to compromise. I’d make four resolutions … two easy, two challenging.

Resolution #1Eat healthier. Cut the sugar, the bad fats and carbs. Then my family decided on an Italian-themed potluck for New Year’s Day. One son brought homemade Arancini and the host/son made Fettuccini Alfredo (with heavy cream). Dessert? My Tiramisu. Needless to say … I needed a restart immediately on #1. Since then, there have been a few more slips, mostly related to family or friends. This resolution is still a work in progress.

best-sneaker-featuredResolution #2Walk every day. Preferably outside. A rather silly resolution to make when you live in Atlantic Canada. By day 3 a snow storm rolled in leaving nearly a foot of snow in it’s wake. Thankfully, I compromised and began walking a circuit in my four-story apartment complex. Admittedly, I’ve missed a couple of days but not enough to call foul on the resolution.

Resolution #3Write every day. Preferably on a work-in-progress but even an outline, or a media kit counts. Thankfully, I’ve not fouled here yet even though my progress isn’t as far along as I’d like.

social-mediaResolution #4Concentrate more in a social media presence. If you think I failed #1 from the get-go, I really dropped the ball here. It’s no secret, I was a late-comer to social media. And despite all the hype on publicizing yourself as much as you do your books, I still struggle with personal posts. I am making an effort, just not the consistent one I’d hoped for when the year began.

So, for those keeping score, I’m just short of an even 2 and 2. Surprisingly though, the two I’ve been able to adhere to best were not the ones I’d expected. Now it’s time to revise and start again. I need to look at all my resolutions as I do my writing. Something, if not everything, every day.

ny-chapter-1My revisions now include: #1 – try cutting back on two things rather than three; #2 – accept the fact the the weather’s not going away and ramp up the inside route while, at the same time, giving myself a day off each week to be lazy; #3 – (here’s where I’m getting a bit tougher with myself) write on the WIP every day. Shoot for 1000-2000 words per day during the week and 500 words per day on the weekend. And, like the walking, take one day off; #4 – post 1 personal and 1 professional media notice on my author page every day. Nothing more than a line or two, but keep those who follow my page engaged.

For those who resist social media as much as I do, I’ve put together a list of things I’m going to try. A lot of these ideas come from my newsletter as well. Feel free to use any of these to your own advantage:

  1. Share a review of not just current books but newer reviews of older books at least 2 or 3 times per week.
  2. Share a recipe. Since I put recipes in my vintage novellas, I have a beginning.
  3. Share a short scene from the newest releases or any releases currently on sale.
  4. Share a writing related meme.
  5. Tweet tag lines, links and book covers. Since I write in multiple genres, do a genre day on Twitter.

I’l love to hear from those who follow this blog. Do you make resolutions? When you do, can you keep them? Do you have something specific you like to post or tweet about?

Best wishes to everyone for a happy, healthy and prosperous new year.

Nancy

 

 

 

.

About Nancy Fraser

Like most authors, Nancy began writing at an early age, usually on the walls and with crayons or, heaven forbid, permanent markers. Her love of writing often made her the English teacher’s pet, which, of course, resulted in a whole lot of teasing. Still, it was worth it. When not writing (which is almost never), Nancy dotes on her five beautiful grandchildren and looks forward to traveling and reading when time permits. Nancy lives in Atlantic Canada where she enjoys the relaxed pace and colorful people.
This entry was posted in Nanobytes From Nancy!, Soul Mate Publishing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

