Open Letter to my Readers By: Rose Lange

thank-you-noteDear Reader,

Our lives are busy, and it never seems to stop, abate, or slow down. So when I sit down to write in my office, it’s just me, and these imaginary, yet real people in my mind. And as any writer will tell you, writing is a frustrating, wonderful, joyous, frustrating, euphoric, pain staking, why am I doing this, nail biting process. Oh, and did I mention frustrating? Yes, I enjoy what I do, but some days I would love to throw the towel down the chute, light the match, burn the bridge. You name it, I’ve thought about it. I have lost track of the amount of times I’ve wanted to do just that: quit. I’ll be honest when I say, that I’ve managed to keep my sanity because of two things. One, because I’m too addicted at this point, and two, my readers. You are the super glue that holds my sanity together.

Writing is solitary, yes, but only to a point. I spend time alone creating this world, telling their story, and watching it all unfold before my eyes. The end result, after revisions, contracts, edits, final galleys, is when it is birthed into the world. It is gratifying, and humbling to think that someone then took the time to look up, purchase, read, review, and spread word of mouth. Without you, I couldn’t continue this passion, and it is because of you that I want to keep telling stories. It is part addiction, part joy, and always heart. Because even if the work starts in the mind, thinking of an idea, allowing it to simmer, and grow, it always makes it way down toward the heart. I guess that’s the reason we feel so naked, and vulnerable on the page, because in a sense, we are.

If I had a dollar for every doubt or fear I’ve felt, thinking geez will anybody even care about this story, does it matter, is it boring? Heck, I could retire early in a private cabin in the woods. With each book, even as the excitement has taken a front row seat, and is ready to go, the doubts always loom, like an ominous grey storm cloud, snuffing out the sunshine.

Dear Reader, you are that sunshine, with your warm, encouraging, and comforting words. With each review you leave, and each time you recommend my book to a family member/and or friend. When you take the time to reach out beyond a review, telling me you couldn’t put my book down. The housework did not get done, and my book is to blame. You have a talent, and I felt as though I was right there in the story. Or that I cannot wait for your next book to come out. These are my greatest rewards before, during, and after the process. I hold these close to my heart, and remember them when I’m doubting the process, doubting myself.

Such enthusiasm keeps me motivated, and running back to the keyboard the next day. So please, next time you’ve read and enjoyed an author’s work, please do not hesitate to reach out, because your email may arrive on the very day or moment they wanted to quit. Words are powerful, and carry more weight than we realize.

Thank you all, for keeping this writer going.

http://www.roselange.com

Facebook: Rose Lange, Author

Twitter: @writingdiva82

Email: rose@roselange.com

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Rose In The Garden!, Soul Mate Publishing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

