LEARNING DISABILITY AWARENESS

Good morning everyone. Today I wanted to talk about something that many of us may not know much about:

image

dys·lex·i·s
dəsˈleksēə/
noun

a general term for disorders that involve difficulty in learning to read or interpret words, letters, and other symbols, but that do not affect general intelligence.

I’m sure everyone has heard of it and knows what it is but unless you have a child with this learning disability, it can be hard to truely understand.

As a matter of fact, it is still hard for me to grasp exactly what my daughter struggles with each and every day…

Yes, my daughter has dislexyia but she is working very hard toward overcoming it and not letting it slow her down.

But all too often, this is how she looks as she does homework:

image

It’s horrible for me to see her struggle with schoolwork so I can’t even imagine how bad it is for her. But then I saw this and it have me an idea of what goes on every time she looks at words or numbers:

image

I was blown away. This is what my child sees? Or this?

image

I was not aware of how much dyslexia affects every day life. At first I thought it was just mixing a few letters up every now and then. But then I discovered That in most cases it doesn’t affect just one area of learning but many.

image

In fact, the more I found out about dyslexia, the more shocked I became.  For example, did you know that:

*It is very common

*More than 3 million US cases per year

*It can’t be cured, but treatment may help

*Chronic dyslexia can last for years or be lifelong

That is really scary knowing how much my child struggles and It’s not curable. But I found out more.

People with dyslexia:

Learn best through hands-on experience, demonstrations, experimentation, observation, and visual aids.

Vision, Reading, and Spelling

Complains of dizziness, headaches or stomach aches while reading. Confused by letters, numbers, words, sequences, or verbal explanations. Reading or writing shows repetitions, additions, transpositions, omissions, substitutions, and reversals in letters, numbers and/or words. Complains of feeling or seeing non-existent movement while reading, writing, or copying. Seems to have difficulty with vision, yet eye exams don’t reveal a problem. Extremely keen sighted and observant, or lacks depth perception and peripheral vision. Reads and rereads with little comprehension. Spells phonetically and inconsistently.

Hearing and Speech

Has extended hearing; hears things not said or apparent to others; easily distracted by sounds. Difficulty putting thoughts into words; speaks in halting phrases; leaves sentences incomplete; stutters under stress; mispronounces long words, or transposes phrases, words, and syllables when speaking.

Writing and Motor Skills

Trouble with writing or copying; pencil grip is unusual; handwriting varies or is illegible. Clumsy, uncoordinated, poor at ball or team sports; difficulties with fine and/or gross motor skills and tasks; prone to motion-sickness. Can be ambidextrous, and often confuses left/right, over/under.

Math and Time Management

Has difficulty telling time, managing time, learning sequenced information or tasks, or being on time. Computing math shows dependence on finger counting and other tricks; knows answers, but can’t do it on paper. Can count, but has difficulty counting objects and dealing with money. Can do arithmetic, but fails word problems; cannot grasp algebra or higher math.

Memory and Cognition

Excellent long-term memory for experiences, locations, and faces. Poor memory for sequences, facts and information that has not been experienced. Thinks primarily with images and feeling, not sounds or words (little internal dialogue).

Behavior, Health, Development and Personality

Extremely disorderly or compulsively orderly. Can be class clown, trouble-maker, or too quiet. Had unusually early or late developmental stages (talking, crawling, walking, tying shoes). Prone to ear infections; sensitive to foods, additives, and chemical products. Can be an extra deep or light sleeper; bedwetting beyond appropriate age. Unusually high or low tolerance for pain. Strong sense of justice; emotionally sensitive; strives for perfection. Mistakes and symptoms increase dramatically with confusion, time pressure, emotional stress, or poor health.

Talented in art, drama, music, sports, mechanics, story-telling, sales, business, designing, building, or engineering. Seems to “Zone out” or daydream often; gets lost easily or loses track of time. Difficulty sustaining attention; seems “hyper” or “daydreamer.”

They are able to read, write, or spell at grade level. Labelled lazy, dumb, careless, immature, “not trying hard enough,” or “behavior problem.” Isn’t “behind enough” or “bad enough” to be helped in the school setting. High in IQ, yet may not test well academically; tests well orally, but not written. Feels dumb; has poor self-esteem; hides or covers up weaknesses with ingenious compensatory strategies; easily frustrated and emotional about school reading or testing.

I felt so horrible because I didn’t realize how bad it was for her Or for anyone with dyslexia. But I do now and so do you. So you you can help someone suffering from this learning disability, please do. It could mean the world to them.

Here is a poem I write especially for my daughter about about dyslexia. In this poem, my daughter is a monkey (her nickname). 😀

               GRACIE CAN

“Come on Gracie,”
Momma said.
“It’s time to get up
And get out of bed.”

“Aw mom,” Gracie said
“Do I really have to?
Getting up
Is not what I want to do.”

“I want to stay in bed
And relax all day
Maybe I’ll sleep some more
Maybe I’ll go outside and play.”

“You can’t do that,”
Her daddy said.
“You have to get up
And get out of bed.”

“Your friends and teachers
Are all waiting for you.
So please get dressed
And put on your socks and shoes.”

“Brush your teeth
And comb your hair
You don’t want to miss the bus
And be late getting there.”

“But Momma, Daddy,”
Gracie said
Stomping her foot
When she climbed out of bed.

“I hate going to school
I hate to read
I don’t understand it
I’ll never succeed.”

“My letters always get mixed up
Like my d’s and my b’s
And of course other letters
Like my q’s and my p’s.”

“Math is too hard
I can’t figure it out
The numbers swim around,”
Gracie said with a pout.

“We know it’s hard,”
Momma and Daddy said,
“When everything gets mixed up
Inside your head.”

“But you are smart
There is no doubt
With some help
You’ll figure it out.”

“So trust in us
And your teachers too
You’re not all alone
We’re here to help you.”

“But I’m so scared
That I’ll fail,”
Gracie said,
As she twisted her tail.

“Lee and Nicole
They don’t have to try
They don’t ever struggle
Can you tell me why?”

 “Their younger than me
My bro and my sis
And they don’t ever have trouble
At least not like this.”

 “It’s not fair
And it’s not right,”
Gracie said,
With her mouth cinched up tight.

Momma and Daddy looked at Gracie
And they saw her pain
Then they tried their best
To explain.

 “For some kids it’s easy
To do math and to read
But for others
They have to struggle to succeed.”

 “You have dyslexia,”
Momma said.
“It’s where letters and numbers
Get mixed up in your head.”

 “But it doesn’t mean
That you’re not smart
I know that for sure,
Cross my heart.”

“It just means
It’s harder to understand
But it’ll be ok,” Daddy said
And he took her hand.

 “Lots of people
Have this too
Listen here
And I’ll name a few.”

“Alexander Graham Bell
The telephone was his invention
But wait a minute
I’ve got more people to mention.”

“Some famous artists
Had it too
Picasso and Da Vinici
Just to name a few.”

 “Albert Einstein
He was the smartest man alive
He had dyslexia too
And he had to work and strive.”

 “Even actors and actress
Are not immune
There’s Bella Thorne, Whoopi Goldberg
Keira Knightly and Orlando Bloom.”

“John Lennon and Cher
Their musicians you see
And then there’s Ozzy
But that’s just three.”

“Athletes like Muhammad Ali and Magic Johnson
Even Tim Tebow and Nolan Ryan
They had a hard time in school
But they never stopped trying.”

All of these people
Are just like you
They had dyslexia
And you do too.”

“But if you work really hard
And do your best
With some special help
You’ll pass every test.”

Gracie thought and thought
And thought some more
She had a lot to think on
That was for sure.

But after a minute
Or maybe five or ten,
Gracie looked up
With a super bright grin.

“I can do this
I know I can
I’ll work really hard
So I can understand.”

“I’ll go to school
And get the help I need
I will beat this dyslexia
And I will succeed.”

 “It may be hard
It may be tough
But I will be brave
And defeat this stuff.”

Gracie got dressed
And pulled on her socks and shoes
“I want to start niw
There’s no time to lose.”

She brushed her teeth
And combed her hair.
“I can beat this
If I try and if I dare.”

“Momma and Daddy, you’ll be so proud
Just wait and see
I’ll be proud of myself too
And at last, I will like me!”

About AmesGrace

I am a working wife, mother, and new author. In my free time, I love to read, write, and take pictures. I enjoy spending time with my family and friends. We do a lot of bike riding, playing sports, swimming, and watching movies.
This entry was posted in Ambling Along With Amy! and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to LEARNING DISABILITY AWARENESS

  1. gailingis says:

    My daughter is dyslexic. She got help from an eye doctor at 13. She then loved reading and had less trouble in school. She is 59 now still has it. I have it too. It’s tough forever, but u learn how to work around it. Great research, valuable info.

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  2. An amazing post! It landed right in my heart. My grown adopted son is dyslexic and had a hard time, but now he’s doing great and I thank God for him every day. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

