A Valentine’s Day Sonnet by Catherine Castle

kssing-annimatemm900288891

While searching for a quote about love to jumpstart my Valentine’s Day blog post, I came across this saying by Aristotle:

Love is composed of a single soul inhabiting two bodies. – Aristotle

It prompted a poem, a sonnet to be precise, and I thought I would share it. Sonnets can be tricky to write because they require a meter and a rhyme pattern. I’m particularly fond of Shakespeare’s sonnets which are written in iambic pentameter, or 10 syllables to a line, with every other syllable accented and a rhyme pattern of abab cdcd efef gg. The rhyme is the easy part, defining iambic pentameter, quite another, but I try my best to conquer it. I always had trouble with that part of poetry.

Why am I talking about poetry, you ask, when I’m a writer of romance? Aside from the fact the poem is about love, I think writing poetry is a great exercise to create lyric and precise language. All writers, in my opinion, should practice writing poetry to help hone their skills.

Besides, it’s Valentine’s Day, and I need something to write on the inside of my hubby’s handcrafted Valentine’s Day card.

I hope you enjoy my Valentine’s Day Sonnet based on Aristotle’s quote.

 

 

Love is composed of a single soul inhabiting two bodies. – Aristotle

A Valentine’s Day Sonnet ©

By Catherine Castle

 

Love is two hearts snared in a solitary soul

who sings harmonic duets that ring

a solo tone. One voice. One mind, who knows

the other’s hopes, sees hidden needs and things

kept deep inside. A cloistered, sheltered soul

bound to another’s frailties. A keeper

of all secrets both shared and those untold,

whose vow of silence binds forever,

detained with silken cords of passion’s flame.

A single soul with deep desire to love

and cherish, hold from harm, swear truelove’s name

is but their own—an oath blessed from above.

A lone soul is Love, bound in two frail shells.

Soul mates now and till comes heaven and hell.

 

 

How are you expressing love to  your Valentine ?

 

 

Catherine CastleCatherine Castle is a multi-award-winning author and the author the The Nun and the Narc. When she isn’t writing she loves to garden, sing, and quilt. You can visit her at her blog Romance For the Ages
This entry was posted in News From the Castle!, Soul Mate Publishing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

