Too Damn Many Story Ideas In My Head

Let’s talk plotting.

Rather, my version of plotting, which isn’t really plotting at all. You see, I’m a panster, through and through. What does that mean? It means I can’t outline a potential story idea to save my life. Trust me, I’ve tried.

Okay, no, my life was not on the line, but the plot running through my head was so good. I desperately wanted to capture it, but I didn’t have time to sit down right then and there to put fingertips to keyboard. I can’t remember what else was going on in my life, but I’m sure it had something to do with the day job or the kid or, possibly, a deadline for another book. Whatever the reason, I wasn’t in a position to get the story out, so I tried to outline it, thinking I’d go back at a later date and flesh it out and turn it into a best seller.

That was three years ago, and the outline is still sitting in my WIP file.

Guess what? I’m in the exact same situation, again. I have this fabulous story idea–a new contemporary romance–and I have too many other commitments right now. I can’t focus on it, but the damn story won’t leave me alone. I need to write it down, or at least some semblance of the story. An outline.

Yikes! I can’t. I just can’t.

Okay, so maybe if I write it down here, talk it through with you all, I can capture it, you get a taste of (hopefully) what’s to come, and then, when I have the time to dedicate to it, I can come back to this blog post and use it to remind myself, inspire myself, and write the damn story. Finally.

Ready?

Let’s start with how I came up with the story idea.

A few days ago, I was driving down the road and stopped at a red light. Next to me was a guy on a motorcycle. He was scruffy, tatted up, and hot.

He’s gotta go in a book. That was my instantaneous thought.

And the heroine has to be the exact opposite—buttoned up, cleaned up, maybe a librarian. Or a lawyer. A bad ass lawyer who doesn’t take shit from anyone—because I do love my strong heroines, and I feel like there could be lots of conflict between a staunchly straight-laced lawyer and a rough, tattooed biker.

But I don’t want him to be a biker, per say. There are plenty of MC books out there, and that’s not really something I’m interested in writing, anyway. So he needs to be something else, blue collar, very different from a lawyer…

A mechanic. Yeah, I haven’t written a mechanic before, and I have a cousin who is one, so I could hit him up for questions. And for some reason, mechanics seem like bad asses to me. Sexy, dirty bad asses.

Sexy_Mechanic.jpg

I’m really starting to feel this book…

These two are definitely going to need help finding their happily ever after. Why? Well, because she’s a divorce attorney. And she represented his ex-wife, when they were battling over custody of his son.

Oh yeah.

In fact, he’s still fighting with his bitch of an ex, and that’s how the book is going to start—with him arguing on the phone over what time he was supposed to pick up their son that evening, even though she knows damn well he can’t get out of work until after six. After cussing her out and hanging up, he’s itching for a fight.

He’s been working on a car all day—some expensive, foreign job—and all the problems stemmed from the fact the owner doesn’t know jack shit about taking care of a vehicle. When the reception desk calls back and lets him know the owners is on her way back, he can’t wait to lay into her, partially to let off steam from the call with the ex, and also because vehicle owners who don’t know the first thing about taking care of such an expensive piece of equipment make him nuts…

That’s when the lawyer walks in. You can imagine their first meeting in the book doesn’t go well. In fact, the first few meetings are disasters. It isn’t until they are both bike riding—a hobby they discover they both love—and she ends up with a flat tire, so he carries her bike home for her and they strike up a surprisingly friendly conversation.

Meanwhile, she is subtly offering advice on how he can see his son more often, maybe even get along a little better with the ex.

And slowly, gradually, the animosity turns to respect, which turns to friendship, which turns to… something more, a lot more. Steamy more. And it appears that we will have another happily ever after on our hands…

Until the ex finds out her lawyer’s sleeping with her man, even if he’s the ex man.

Uh-oh.

I haven’t actually worked out the ending in my head, but that’s okay. This is enough to start with. I’m pretty excited about this story. I can’t wait to write it.

In the meantime, my characters need names. The mechanic, the lawyer, the ex, even the son, who is three-years-old (because three-year-olds are so damn cute). The shop needs a name, too. Hell, the book needs a name.

Whatcha got for me? Any suggestions? Lemme have ‘em!

About Tami Lund

Author, Blogger, Wine Drinker, Award Winner. Writing happily ever afters, one book at a time.
This entry was posted in Soul Mate Publishing. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Too Damn Many Story Ideas In My Head

  1. Hey writer, author you already have the plot outline down and it reads WOW! Will be sending info on how to outline this later in the day (haven’t had breakfast yet), one that helps me a great deal in chapter by chapter sumary. Hold on, keep those thoughts alive I shall returnl

  2. Beth Carter says:

    Love the premise. This is exactly how I don’t “outline.” I bang out info about the main characters, their careers, the conflicts, and how they meet exactly like you just did!! I think we’re called a plantser. Way more pantser than plotter but a tiny combo. 😉

    Write this story! I want to read it. I have a draft ms with a mechanic, too, because my grandpa was one and I want to pay homage to him. But it’s way down on my list to finish.

    Good luck, girl. Great job!

    • Tami Lund says:

      Planster – I like that! I’m going with it, too :). Good luck on your project, too. I think it’s great your doing it to pay homage to your grandfather! Now, time to carve time to write….

  3. thhernandez says:

    I wrote my first three books as a pantser, but now I’m an avid outliner. I’m not sure why I switched, but I think I’m still a pantser at heart, because my outlines are never followed religiously!

  4. Okay Tami, here is a rough outline of what I use to write my book chapters. It helps me a great deal. I found it someplace on the net and made some changes. Anyone else who may find this helpful, be my guest. May we all write books that sizzle and entice readers.
    LOCALE:
    TIME OF DAY
    TIME OF YEAR
    WEATHER
    HOW MUCH TIME HAS PASSED SINCE PREVIOUS SCENE OR CHAPTER
    POV
    SUMMARY OF SCENE
    If it helps, let me know. If it doesn’t help I apologize.

  5. Blue Collar White Lace, Starcrossed, I could do a hundred more, but I like the story. Doing it a blog was an act of genius. Thanks, Tema

Leave a Reply

