Memorial Day

flag_united_states_flag_american_flag_235662

 

I can’t not blog on this weekend and not talk about Memorial Day. I would love to wish everyone a happy and safe weekend, but I also ask everyone to reflect on what Memorial Day is. Yes, we travel, see family, picnic, throw parties, but it’s also a day to think about the men and women who lost their lives for our liberties.

Over the years, I’ve written three non-fiction military books. I’m always amazed at the stories I’ve heard and written about our servicemen and women. One-by-one as our WWII, Korean, and Viet Nam vets age and pass on to another life, we lose their stories, their journeys to protect us. And whether they served during peacetime or war or conflict, they deserve our respect and honor.

The other day I chaperoned my grandson’s second-grade field trip. We walked from their school to downtown, learning about our community along the way. We walked through a large cemetery. The kids were respectful and amazed at all the flags. One student asked why there were flags on some graves and not others. We told them it was in honor of all the men and women who served in the military and have died. “Wow, that’s a lot,” one child said. Another said, “Some day I’m going to be in the Army.”

Monday I’ll proudly watch my seventh-grade granddaughter march in her first Memorial Day parade. I’ll tear up as she goes past. I’ll tear up as our veterans, young and old go by. I’ll get choked up as they play taps and think about my grandfather, father, brother, sister, nephews, and cousins who served.

This weekend take the time to visit a cemetery, not to put flowers on family member’s graves. There’s nothing wrong with that, but it’s what many people think this day is about. Take the time to look over the cemetery and watch the multitude of flags wave in the breeze and think about the dedication and service to our country.

This post is not about what I write or publish, or what others write and publish. It’s my chance to humbly thank those that have given their lives for us. Bless them.

About Tina Susedik, Author

Please visit my website. New updates to come.
This entry was posted in Catching Up With Tina S!, Soul Mate Publishing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

