The Trouble With Cars

Good morning all!

You know the saying you never know how much you miss something until it’s gone? Well, I’m experiencing this feeling now.

We all need our cars.


We lead busy lives. Lives that include going places. To work, to the store, to the library. The need to drive is substantial. We rely on our vehicles more than we realize. And often we take the ability to hop in the car and go for granted.


Well, for the time being, that ability to go where and when I need to is on hold for me.My car decided to break down.

Now, many times I have thought to myself: It sure would be nice to not have to go anywhere. To just stay at home for a change.

While this sounds good, when your vehicle breaks down when you have things you HAVE TO DO, it is no longer a good thing.

To get anywhere, I am left with minimal choices.

  • Beg for a ride

  • Walk

  • Bike


Although others don’t mind giving rides, before too long it becomes an inconvenience. And although walking and biking are good exercise, it’s hard to do that when it’s raining, grocery shopping, or it’s hot enough outside to cook an egg on the sidewalk.

But until my poor, sick car gets well, I must do what I can to do what I have to.

So the next time you think you want to be stuck at home and not go anywhere, just be careful what you wish for. It may not always happen the way you would like.

Wish me luck!

About AmesGrace

I am a working wife, mother, and new author. In my free time, I love to read, write, and take pictures. I enjoy spending time with my family and friends. We do a lot of bike riding, playing sports, swimming, and watching movies.
This entry was posted in Ambling Along With Amy! and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Trouble With Cars

  1. Good post! What about Uber?

Leave a Reply

