The feels, and the contract: By Rose Lange

pursuit-of-happiness-will-celebration-this-part-of-my-life-this-little-part-is-called-happinessThe email. The email that I’d been waiting on for almost two months, finally landed in my inbox on July 31, and wow. I am still feeling the high as I attempt to absorb that this is really happening. That this is not a dream, and in fact, that I did land a two-book contract. That first day, I could barely eat my lunch, and had to force myself to eat. The day after, and I am still in a great deal of shock. I’m a mixture of happy, excited, nervous, and a little fearful of this big unknown that I’m diving into. When I first opened the email and saw those words, I fell to my knees, and sobbed. My hand shook as I held onto my phone and re-read that email. The email I had been sweating over, waiting for an answer so my brain would rest had finally come. And now, dear reader, let me start from the very beginning.

It’s been nearly two years since I began writing my third book, on August 7, 2015. This book, for the first time in my writing career, lead to a sequel. Emma and Patrick in book one, lead to Mike and Sarah, in book two. The secondary characters in the first book, his brother, and her roommate, were that strong. They begged for attention, and I just knew they needed their own romance. It felt like the right time to take a risk in my writing and career.

I was nervous at first, and wasn’t sure that I could pull it off, as I’d never written or attempted to write a series before. Although in the beginning, it was a learning curve, as I got to know my characters, and they got to know me. I fumbled in the dark early on, but the further I was immersed, the more they came to life for me, and surprised me (and continue to at every turn).  Once I got my feet wet, hell, I was having a great time, and I’m as anxious to find out what happens to these two as my readers will be. Because not even I am aware of what’s around the corner. I have to say I can’t wait for you to meet these people who’ve been hanging around in my head, because it sure has been entertaining.

This coming weekend I plan on celebrating big. Lunch and shopping with a friend on Saturday, and dinner out with my family on Sunday, where I will most definitely have a beer. I gotta say I’m already anticipating, and looking forward to all this excitement coming up. As crazy as it may sound, I am looking forward to the whirlwind that is ahead of me. The input on my covers, the blurbs, the edits to follow, and (eek!) the semi-final to the final, galleys, to publication! I’m sure I’m missing something in that crazy lineup, but my head is still adjusting to the news. I am that little kid in the publishing candy store, tiptoeing up to the counter, and seeing what’s there for me.

I am exceedingly grateful, and humbled that my publisher took this leap of faith on me and my work, and I cannot wait for the kick-ass adventure to begin.

Rose Lange

http://www.roselange.com

Facebook: Rose Lange, Author

Twitter: writingdiva82

Email: rose@roselange.com

This entry was posted in Rose In The Garden!, Soul Mate Publishing. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The feels, and the contract: By Rose Lange

  1. So excited for you, Rose! Your characters are so special, I have no doubt your series will be a big success, beloved by your readers. All the best! kate, writing as Katie O’Boyle

  2. Thank you so much, Kate! 🙂

Leave a Reply

