Marketing a Series: When to Move On

When I finished Breakwater Beach,  I never intended to write a sequel, never mind two. But Mike and Liz weren’t letting go of their lease on life, and the story premise for The Widow’s Walk popped into my head. It took about another year for me to get the second one done, about fifteen months later Storm Watch was complete.

I’ve been on the marketing bandwagon for the Unfinished Business series for three years, and since these books were in the same world, branding was consistent and I could spend time marketing and writing without too much effort. But though there are stirring of a possible fourth book, it is time for me to move on to other projects–my urban fantasy series in particular.

The current wisdom is for writers to keep going on a series, because one book helps sell the others. It has taken several months to pull myself out of a Cape Cod ghost mentality and reacquaint myself with two Latino witches battling the dhampirs and werewolves who’ve have taken control of The Bronx. A quick re read of the first book, jump started writing on the second, but it’s slow and I haven’t been able to get the “fever” needed to make real progress. The research for the Boulevard of Bad Spells and Broken Dreams series is very involved, and not nearly as pleasant and as sitting on a Cape Cod beach where the worst that can happen to me is a sunburn.

I can’t blame in all on the time spent marketing the Unfinished Business series, but the blogging and social media events keep pulling me away from writing every day. I don’t have a lot of time when I get home from the day job, and with the little time I do have I’d  rather curl up with someone else’s book. There is still Audible to investigate and execute for Unfinished Business–plus some calls for a film adaptation that will require cutting out some words–and all the sex scenes. I just got my print copies of Storm Watch–and have a holiday book signing at Barnes and Noble in early December to prepare for. Then there is Romance Writers Gone Wild in mid November. Oh my.

I’m exhausted and need time off, but the marketing bug has infected me and getting rid of it has proven impossible. The result is gridlock, with nothing new getting done. My best hope in NaNoWriMo, but that’s only a month away and I’m not sure I can get my head facing the South Bronx.  I’d love to know how other authors juggle writing different series. And when to say enough is enough, get off the social media, put on the headphones, and write with a new playlist dancing in my head.

 

 

This entry was posted in Calling On Carole!, Soul Mate Publishing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Marketing a Series: When to Move On

  1. That’s a tough one! I think though as time passes, marketing enough to just stay relevant is enough. A weekly plug on twitter, instagram, or even FB should do it. But, in the real world, as a marketing director we had the ABM thing going on, and pushed it on our managers. Always be marketing! I’ll have to see how it goes when mine come out in January, and April.

  2. Madelyn Hill says:

    Great post! Marketing is a huge, but necessary time suck!

  3. It has me wiped out. I can’t seem to get back into a regular writing routine. I’m hoping NaNo will help

  4. stephaniequeen says:

    Sounds like a job for a virtual assistant with marketing props. Because you can’t EVER STOP marketing. And you do need to keep writing. Good luck!

  5. Marketing is a full-time job, and I work it into my day, like I do my exercise. If you don’t limit the time, it will suck all your energy. I do what I did when I worked full-time. I have a list of to do’s for the day and cross them out when completed (even lunch break), this way I accomplish more with less stress. I hope that’s helpful.

Leave a Reply

