THE WRITE WORD WITH WAREEZE

Creating Worlds Revisited

Hello Friends and Readers,

If this is your first visit to the Soul Mate Publishing Blog, thank you for taking time to read my post. I write mostly historical romance twisted with suspense under the pen name Wareeze Woodson. I have five novels up on Amazon: After She Became a Lady with characters continuing into Conduct Unbecoming of a Gentleman, An Enduring Love, A Lady’s Vanishing Choices, and my historical western, Bittersweep.

I hope the subject of creating worlds still has something to offer to all, even those who read the first blog I posted on the subject. I wrote a piece for Soul Mate Publishing blog on scene construction which is a big part of world creation as well. I’d like to share part of it with you. I decided to bring the heroine of the story I offered to life. This was my work in progress: ISABEL renamed Captured by the Viscount now under contract at Soul Mate Publishing.

Creating Worlds

Are readers interested in the workings behind the scene? Some say readers are curious about what it takes to write a book. Here is a small glimpse behind the scene of writing. When I write my historical novels, I must create my own worlds. The Regency/Victorian era is a historical fact, but make-believe, for all that because the time in the 1800s no longer exists. With each story, the scene must be created—when in time, day or night, where-location and what is happening. What the character sees, feels, and wants—all must be imagined and displayed for the reader.

Although the author has many historical facts to draw from, the story must exist in the world created by the writer. The colors, the sounds, the tastes and the smells add flavor to the story. The reader wants to visit these places through the character’s point of view and safely absorb the emotions as well without harm to the reader. All rather a lot to provide for the reader and the bar is set high with expectations.

ENTER A SCENE CREATED FOR YOU, THE READER:

The flame of the candle flickered and glinted off the in-laid sliver on the barrel of the pistol pointed directly at Isabel. Fear griped her by the throat. She caught her breath, unable to move or even swallow.

The drapes billowed into the room on a sharp breeze before settling back to the floor with a barely discernible swoosh. The smell of London after a downpour, drifted into the open window, cleansed but still dominated by the odor of horses, foot traffic, and a tavern down the way. She shivered when her drenched cloak swung against the layers of her petticoats with a chilling heaviness. The damp cloth clung to her ankles while moisture trickled down her features into her eyes. She scarce blinked, her gaze captured by the gun.

The long-case clock in the hall chimed once echoing down the empty passageway. Even at this hour, the sound of a carriage rumbling over the cobbled-stones in front of the mansion reached the upper level.

 

I hope I’ve raised several questions in your mind with these few sentences. Is the man with the pistol the hero or the villain? Is this Isabel’s house, or did she enter the building for some nefarious purpose? What happens next?

I created a small glimpse of this world of danger, building tension yet the reader is safe. This is the world of my imagination where velvet and fine jaconet muslins were worn to the Assemblies at Almack’s, where danger lurks before and after the ball, and where the slightest deviation from the rules of conduct adhered to in polite society can make or break a person. The lives of the characters also dwell in this created world. What will happen to her, to him in this tale? Only the author of this created world knows and I’m not telling. After all, this is only make-believe, created in the imagination. I decided to take up the tale after all. (ISABEL) Captured by the Viscount

I do have a cover to reveal:

CapturedByTheViscount_400x600

The blurb on the back of the book when released:

Captured by the Viscount Blurb

Under cover of night and with the best of intentions, Lady Isabel Carlyle breaks into the viscount’s residence to restore his stolen property and retrieve her own. She understood the viscount was out of town for at least a sennight. When she entered the mansion, she never once considered facing a pistol aimed directly at her heart.

The Viscount Matthew Paul Rutherford has need of a bride before the month’s end. Previously, he had selected two different damsels from the marriage mart—Almack’s. However, both ladies met with a fatal accident before the wedding. Now, presented with an unexpected solution to his problem in the form of the lovely thief, he gives Isabel a choice, marriage or gaol.

 

The blurb answers some of the questions raised by the questions in the scene, however there is much to discover in the book; what does actually happen to Lady Isabel, to the Viscount? Is she rescued? Is he vanquished? Take a peek when the book is released.

Thanks for visiting with me.

Respectfully,

Wareeze Woodson

Website: http://www.wareezewoodson.com

face book: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Wareeze-Woodson/523727757689755

goodreads:  https://www.goodreads.com/wareeze

twitter:  http://twitter.com/@wareeze

About wareeze

I am a native of Texas and still live in this great state. I write period romance tangled with suspense. I married my high school sweetheart, years and years ago. We raised four children and have eight grandchildren, and grandchildren are Grand. At the moment, all my children and my grandchildren live within seventy miles of our home, lots of visits. My husband and I still love each other after all these years the stuff romance is made of, Happy Ever After! I lost my beloved husband on Dec 10, 2016 but my memories remain forever Happy Ever After!!
This entry was posted in Soul Mate Publishing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment