Write freely, then edit ruthlessly to enhance your gem. Part 1

Our drafted manuscripts are diamonds in the rough. The first step in cutting diamonds is planning, or determining the best shape for the stone. Does your story meet the general expectations of the genre? Overall, the story must contain a variety of believable conflicts culminating in the happy ending. For crafting romantic suspense, the author better introduce the romantic players and the danger within the first dozen pages. From a consumer standpoint, if I purchase a thriller and there isn’t a credible villain lurking at the onset, that book moves to the bottom of the pile.

The second step in diamond cutting is cleaving or sawing, to separate the stone into pieces. Does your story have the necessary segments to flow smoothly and hold interest to the end? I complete a rough outline (explore the Snowflake method), write a fifty to seventy thousand word draft, and then fill out a packet of plotting element pages. It may sound backwards, but if my conflicts are weak, they’ll surface and can be reworked.

Before you read the next step, here’s a simple trick for the hesitant. Open up your ‘review’ tab. When I purge excess passages or repeated thoughts, I cut them (not delete), hit ‘new comment’, and paste them into the comment appearing on the sidebar. These comments stay with the initial draft I send to my editor. If I’m in doubt about axing a portion, I *** that comment, and my editor knows she can scan the document to the places where I have specific questions. Historically, I’ve removed parts, only to throw all or part of them back in for clarity. I keep an ‘Outtakes’ page for deleted scenes which may be used in other books in my series. At the least, you’ll feel better about eliminating catchy dialogue and perfect descriptions, which didn’t belong anywhere.

Processing gem stones is referred to as bruting, or cutting for shape. Crafting your story, scene by scene, is key. Each scene pushes the story forward, and often the characters backwards. Check the ebb and flow of your scenes and sequels. There are plenty of books on structure explaining the necessary components. I’ve listed my favorites below. Borrow several from the library and check your writing against them. Within each scene, your characters need to react in a sequential manner. Check out the posting on Dwight V. Swain’s “motivation-reaction-units,” or MRUs. Correctly implementing this strategy deepens the POV (point of view) aspect exponentially. (Thank you for this tip, Dana Delamar.)

GMC: Goal Motivation and Conflict  By Debra Dixon

Save The Cat! The Last Book on Screenwriting You’ll Ever Need By Blake Snyder

How to Write A Novel Using the Snowflake Method  By Randy Ingermanson

I’m putting bruting into play while I edit Deadly Formula. Here’s the opening paragraph of my WIP. “Hide! The skin-peeling sensation of being watched shot up Maeve Carlisle’s spine. Who? Wasn’t one of the strangers beside her, texting or talking while hustling toward the corner where they’d wait for the light. Wasn’t anyone walking toward her. But still. . . Hunched and head down, she kept pace while the hand on her purse trembled .” Does it catch your interest? I’ll post Part 2 next month and until then, Happy Trails and Happy Valentine’s Day!

About Sally Brandle

Author, horse lover, gardener, pastry enabler, and thankful wife and mother. Very proud of my novels, The Hitman's Mistake, Torn by Vengeance, and The Targeted Pawn. Multi-award winning author Sally Brandle weaves slow-burning romance into edgy suspense, motivating readers to trust their instincts. Growing up as a tomboy alongside brothers prepared her to work in a male-centric industry, raise sons, and create action packed stories featuring strong women. She thrives on creating unintentional heroines who conquer their vulnerabilities and partner with heroes to outwit cunning villains.
This entry was posted in Simply Stated By Sally! and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Write freely, then edit ruthlessly to enhance your gem. Part 1

  1. Excellent tips! Thanks for sharing, Sally. 🙂

  2. sueberger3 says:

    what a great idea to put all the deleted stuff in a comment or rather, in comments. I remember reading about the snowflake method and of course I devoured save the cat. Don’t know that last book. You definitely caught my interest with your posted bit of your story

  3. I love the idea of leaving the cuts in the margin!

Leave a comment