My Midwest Adventure

I love to travel but haven’t been doing as much of it lately, so these past few weeks in the Midwest was a really fun treat.

I was lucky enough to live in the path of totality in 2017, and ever since I’ve wanted to see another eclipse (full disclosure–my family traveled to Mexico when I was a kid for an eclipse, though there was too much cloud cover for a satisfying viewing–so I at least come by my fascination honestly) With the path of totality so close to Chicago, I knew I wanted to figure out a way to fit the eclipse into my travel plans. My husband and I visited one of my cousins near Indianapolis–and got very lucky with the weather in Indiana. I didn’t take any pictures during totality since I was too busy soaking in the awesome sight of the full corona. So spectacular! I’m very bummed that the next one in the US is 20 years away. Did you do anything special for the eclipse on April 8th?

After the eclipse was over, my husband hung around a few more days to try to avoid the worst of the eclipse pricing, before he headed home and I went to spend a week in Chicago. Aside from a couple of absolutely wonderful reader and author events, I also got to spend some time in one of my favorite cities. I did an architectural boat tour on the river that was a total blast. The guide was really knowledgeable and Chicago is home to some very unique, very impressive buildings with a rich history that continues to grow and improve all the time. I also spent a day at the Field Museum–my favorite–and the Institute of Art. I probably could have spent another week there, just enjoying the museums, and soaking up the inspiration for my writing. Though after so long away, I was also happy to be home again with my family and my pets.

I’ve never lived in a city, but Chicago is certainly on my short list of places I’d like to live–if I could afford it! How about you? Are there any cities you particularly enjoy? Do you have any fun travel plans this spring or summer?


Jaycee Jarvis has been an avid romance reader since devouring all the Sweet Dreams books her middle school library had to offer. Also a fantasy fan from an early age, she often wished those wondrous stories had just a bit more kissing. Now she writes stories with a romantic heart set against a magical backdrop, creating the kind of book she most likes to read.

When not lost in worlds of her own creation, she resides in the Pacific Northwest with her husband, three children and a menagerie of pets.

Jaycee is a Golden Heart® finalist and author of the Hands of Destin series. The award winning first book in that series, Taxing Courtship, released in June 2018. The final book in that series, Crowning Courtship, came out in May 2021.

Learn more about her around the web:

This entry was posted in Chatter-Time With Jaycee! and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to My Midwest Adventure

  1. sueberger3 says:

    I love Chicago and the field Museum. I always wanted to visit the Victorian dollhouse. that a silent Movie star left the city.

    Actually, I am traveling to Vancouver on Monday to work on a new TV series called laid. And I will be there until Wednesday. I really love Vancouver so I’m very happy plus I have two more episodes in late June.

Leave a comment