Setting the Mood for Christmas with Highland Romance

This is my last SMP author blog for 2022. I haven’t been able to keep up with my writing, for this blog or otherwise, over the past few months. Despite, my new urban fantasy release Boulevard of Bad Spells and Broken Dreams last summer, real life has intruded on my fiction projects. All I’ve been writing lately are chart notes while on a dizzying kaleidoscope of assignments that put the moniker of family nurse practitioner to the ultimate test.

First came a relief mission to the mountains of Puerto Rico after flooding hurricanes. Then total immersion in a massive effort to care for migrants from infants to older adults arriving from the Southern Border of the United States. Shifts start as early as 5:30 a.m. and often extend an hour or more past sign off at 7 p.m. due to emergencies. My backpack is loaded with equipment, and my phone with apps to calculate dosages, convert centimeters and grams to inches and pounds, and to figure out what of the medications we do have on hand will substitute for the ones we’d normally prescribe.

I have escaped into reading other’s fiction while on the train home and to settle down enough to finally fall asleep. They include some classics like A Passage to India by EM Forster, and most recently a blessedly escapist Highland Romance by fellow SMP author Madelyn Hill.

Christmas in the Highlands was a delightful escape. I’ve read very few stories set in Scotland, and this romantic anthology weaves two stories into one. The writing was vivid and even though it was warm outside, I could feel the chill of Scottish winter in the prose.

Mine are Cape Cod Paranormal Romances but if you’re in the for mood ghosts, time slips, or a gritty urban landscape…..

About caroleannmoleti

Nurse Practitioner, Nurse Midwife, Mother. Writes fantasy because walking through walls is easier than running into them. Writes political commentary, memoir and creative nonfiction because....I am not a well behaved woman.
This entry was posted in Calling On Carole!, Soul Mate Publishing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Setting the Mood for Christmas with Highland Romance

  1. Madelyn Hill says:

    Thank you for hosting my Christmas Historical!

  2. viola62 says:

    I applaud your service to others! Thanks for letting me know about wonderful Christmas historical!

Leave a comment