The Grit of the Irish:

The Grit of the Irish:

My hubby and I celebrated St. Patrick’s Day in grand style. Well, the day before I rode in the St. Joseph Italian Parade, but I always show my Irish on March 17.  I don’t care that St. Patrick was actually born in England; he became one of us. Through the years, I’ve created many Irish characters. Grainne O’Malley, a real Irish pirate woman, ruled the seas in Buccaneer Beauty. Grainne, or Grace, was a real pirate. I loved her strength and determination. She manipulated the British as well as rival clans. She was the indispensable partner to two chieftains who controlled her own fleets. Reputedly, she commandeered her ships until the age of seventy-seven.

In From Ice Wagon to Club House and The Progeny, the Mooney family forged their way in their adopted homeland but they often found refuge in the motherland in times of trouble. Jude Mooney, the son of immigrants, drives an ice wagon in New Orleans, works in a Storyville brothel, and then takes ship to Ireland to escape the wrath of his pious parents. Seeking solace with his family, he fights in WWI and then in the Easter Uprising. Eventually, he makes his way home to New Orleans with his sultry Irish wife, becomes a bootlegger, and then a horse trainer. He achieves success but has to send his beloved sons away when they are caught in a web of betrayal and murder. In The Progeny, Jude’s sons fight against Nazis and spy for the allies but not before fighting in the Irish quest for unity. 

This March 17, the hubby and I attended a concert by an Irish singer named Danny O’Flaherty. Danny is a native Irishman who came to this country as a young man. He frequently leads trips back to his homeland. We sang songs of rebellion, love, and legend with others celebrating the saint and the people he converted. Later that night, we attended mass while Fr. Murphy, an Irish native of Chicago, proudly boasted of his heritage. We Irish are a determined and proud group.

About viola62

I am a teacher by day and a writer by night. I live in New Orleans with my loving husband and write historical fiction, mysteries, and contemporary romance. New Orleans is frequently a character in the book, but I also traverse continents in my quest to bring my characters to life.
This entry was posted in Soul Mate Publishing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Grit of the Irish:

  1. sueberger3 says:

    what a lovely celebration. I loved my visit to Ireland to Dublin, Galway, and Lisdoonvarna. I got a book out of the journey, called Irish Magic.
    I write to Susan B James my great great great grandfather was William James, who came from Ireland in approximately 1793 to visit a Revolutionary Battlefield. He stayed in New York and became a wealthy man and helped build the Erie Canal. he had 12 children from four different wives. When he died, he disinherited William and Henry James, and said no one could inherit any money until Grenville,. My great grandfather became 21. They broke the will and 9 of the 12 children drank themselves to death. The exceptions were Ellen who married president, Martin van Buren ‘s son, William James, who became a preacher, and Henry James, who was an educator, and the father of William James, the philosopher and Henry James, the writer.

    My great great grandfather was Howard, who drank himself to death and fathered, Grenville. Granville took himself a Scottish wife, Flora MacDonnell. I do love St. Patrick’s Day. I’m glad you had a happy one

  2. Lots of interesting history! Thanks for sharing, Viola. 🙂

Leave a comment