The Write Word with Wareeze

The middle of the book

Hello again friends and readers,

If this is your first time to read a Soul Mate Publishing blog post, allow me to introduce myself. I write historical romance novels with a dash of suspense under my pen name, Wareeze Woodson. Seven of my books are published by Soul Mate and have been released on Amazon. Conduct Unbecoming of a Gentleman, An Enduring Love, A Lady’s Vanishing Choices, Captured by the Viscount, The Earl’s Scandalous Wager along with a historical romance western: Bittersweep. The title of my latest release is The Earl, Her Reluctant Guardian, also available on Amazon.

I have a self-published one as well. After She Became a Lady. Self-publishing is not for me, however.

Today I would like to discuss the middle of the book. There must be a starting point, written and presented plus the all satisfying ending. Start with an idea for the book and write the beginning scene. Is it strong enough to draw the reader into the story? The author must know the ending as well. Now for the middle. The author must not allow the story to sag in the middle with uninteresting information, no action, and no emotion.

The reader has been introduced to the heroine, the hero, and supporting characters. Perhaps the villain as well. At this point in the story, the beginning, perhaps not the villain yet.

Now we come to the middle. There are two story lines in each of my books, The love story…most important part, and the mystery. To handle the situation properly, the author must present clues throughout the book. This holds true to the beginning. There should be a whiff of romance.

Write the beginning. Jot down the end (happy-ever-after) in my book.

Now for the rest. The author has written the first scene. Write the next scene. Very important, what had to happen to arrive at that scene? Keep moving forward with your eye on the moment the reader closes the book. What must happen to arrive at that happy ending moment? Each movement forward must aimed for that ending with clues sprinkled throughout the manuscript to keep things happening until the end. Actions followed by reactions. Do not leave out the important emotional impact of the story as well.

For example, in my work in progress (Valerie) for now, the reader meets the heroine. Clues letting the reader know something is about the happen between Valerie and Lord Alton. The love story begins.

Valerie:

Valerie quaked in her slippers. She wanted to run, to leave this curst burden far behind but instead she twisted the handle and pushed into the room. Valerie barely observed the cheerful fire in the fireplace. The coziness of the chamber did nothing to warm her chilled hands or her frozen heart. Her stomach sank to her toes. The room was empty. He wasn’t coming. Now, what could she do?

At that very moment, the door opened, and a tall gentleman, with broad shoulders and narrow hips strode into the parlor with a decisive stride. Her entire attention was captured by the handsome face, with a strong jawline denoting an inflexible will, or so she imagined. His raven dark hair brushed the collar of his cut away coat. His eyes should have been a warm brown, but the cold, piercing quality dissuaded her of such a conjecture. A gentleman of means no doubt, noted by his confident stance and apparel, stood before her studying her from the top of her head to her toes. She could tell nothing by his blank expression.

The beginning of a love story you say, absurd. Still, she does view much to admire about the man. His handsome face as well as his well-formed frame. First clue for romance and this is only the beginning.

The mystery element follows. Valerie:

“The harridan smiled at me with a smirk on her face when father made his wishes known. Lady Alton thinks she has covered every possible way to force her vengeance on me.” John’s laughter was hollow with bitterness. “She’ll soon be the dowager countess. She thinks I will marry her to meet the requirement.” John elevated his chin a full, stubborn inch. “My father thought he knew me well and this is his last desperate attempt to control me even beyond the grave.”

The root of the mystery explained. Whatever happens next? In the middle? Well not entirely in the middle. Lord Alton and Valerie must be together. Not miles and miles apart for a romance to flourish.

Valerie:

He didn’t try to soften his tone for the chit holding onto the door. She deserved his wrath peeking at him as if he were a dangerous villain. “I wish to speak to Lady Alton at once.” Lady Alton indeed. She was nothing without him, a mere miss, no lady at all. He held back a vulgar snort at the thought. “I am Lord Alton, her husband. Inform her of my arrival.”

The chit gasped and after a second shut the panel in his face. Running footsteps receded into the interior of the house. Affronted and stunned at such a reception, he seethed with resentment. Valerie had better understand her position-his wife, his to direct, his to protect as well. Protect, hmm. He grimaced at that thought. He didn’t intend to protect her from himself.

The fire begins as a flicker before bursting into flame. Least the middle sags, there is a ghost? Or is there? Unexpected and unwelcome guests arrive at Thornton Court. A murder, real and disturbing occurs. The plot thickens. Do Valerie and John grow closer as the mystery deepens or farther apart? What happens and keeps happening to reach that happy ending? Read more about Valerie and Lord Alton on my website as the story progresses.

I hope this has been a bit helpful when you as the author get stuck in the middle. Keep writing and at the end of the scene ask yourself what must happen to move toward the end. What happened to arrive at this scene is always a helpful question in retrospect? Mull it over and keep writing.

Farewell until we meet again. Thank you for sharing you time with me and reading my post.

Respectfully,

Wareeze Woodson

Website: www.wareezewoodson.com

Face book: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Wareeze-Woodson/523727757689755

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/wareeze

Twitter: http://twitter.com/wareeze

About wareeze

I am a native of Texas and still live in this great state. I write period romance tangled with suspense. I married my high school sweetheart, years and years ago. We raised four children and have eight grandchildren, and grandchildren are Grand. At the moment, all my children and my grandchildren live within seventy miles of our home, lots of visits. My husband and I still love each other after all these years the stuff romance is made of, Happy Ever After! I lost my beloved husband on Dec 10, 2016 but my memories remain forever Happy Ever After!!
This entry was posted in Soul Mate Publishing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to The Write Word with Wareeze

  1. viola62 says:

    Keeping a story from lagging is very important.

Leave a comment